Annual General Meeting 2012 summary

 2012 SARRC AGM in summary:



More than fifty SARRC members attended the 2012 AGM at the Feast Hub, Light Square, Adelaide.

 During the AGM, reports were received from our president and treasurer, members were appointed and reappointed to be board (details further below), life memberships were awarded to David Ashfield and Jackie Whiting and a change to the constitution was considered and approved (details further below).

Following the formalities of the AGM,  our end of year celebration was held. As well as recognising club volunteers, medals and trophies were awarded for our City-Bay Club Championships.

 The George Michell Perpetual Trophies were awarded to the highest ranked performance of a Club Member in the City-Bay, using World Masters Athletics age weighted scales.

 We also formally launched our new event trailer and thanked the family of the late George Michell, whose generous donation made the purchase possible.


A change to the club’s constitution:

 Terry Leach proposed an alteration to the constitution to delete the second sentence of clause 4 (c) No more than two life members shall be appointed in any one year and notice of intention to appoint a life member must be included in the notice of meeting given to members and insert in instead: Notice of intention to appoint one or more life members must be included in the notice of meeting given to members.

As Terry wrote in his explanatory note: “the scale of the club has grown, with more members, more events, more running groups and more Start Running Classes. It is quite feasible that on average more than 2 people per year could be deemed to have made an outstanding contribution to the Club”.

 This proposal was approved by the majority of members present, thus the amendment was accepted and will be implemented.

 As such, the new SARRC board will be considering a number of other nominations for life membership, with these being awarded following the club’s Christmas Caper event on December 9th. More details of this event are available here:



 Details of changes to the SARRC board:

 Five members were elected unopposed to the SARRC board:

 Gregory Jenkins

Tory Toogood

Heather Van Erp

David Mitchell

Kathy Brady (Secretary)

Two members re-nominated as board members:

 Doug Kewley

Lorna Starrs  

The following members continue on the board:

 Andrew Cassetti (Vice President)

Jess Telford (Treasurer)

Blake Tooth

Sophie Hastwell


Four members completed their service on the board and are sincerely thanked for their contributions:

Terry Leach (President 4 years)

Tanya Jenko

Claire Streat

Branko Majeric

As no nominations were received for the position of president, a member of the board will be appointed to this position at the next board meeting.




You are here: Home About Us Annual General Meeting 2012 summary